





Prof. Seokwon Jeon President

ISRM Newsletter No 68 – December 2024 Message from the President

Dear ISRM colleagues,

As we approach the end of 2024, it is a moment to reflect on the past year's activities. First, I would like to express my gratitude to all members who have actively participated in various aspects of our society's activities. It is wonderful to see many activities and achievements, and I hope that these achievements will carry over into future activities.

In 2024, the ISRM sponsored several events, including one International Symposium, two Regional Symposia, three Specialized Conferences, two JTC Conferences, and two Commission Conferences. Congratulations to all for the successful organization of these events, and my heartfelt thanks to the organizing committees for their dedicated efforts.

During the International Symposium held last September in New Delhi, India, the Rocha Medal Award Lecture and the Franklin Lecture were presented. In the Early Career Forum, eight young scholars from Asian region showcased intriguing research. Additionally, Prof. Krishna Panthi and Dr. Muriel Gasc delivered invaluable presentations on professional career development. A tribute session was also held in honor of the late Dr. Eda Quadros, our former president.

The Commission on Coupled THMC Processes in Fractured Rock and the Commission on Estimation of Rock Mass Strength and Deformability held their respective meetings this year in Kyoto and Lima. CouFrac2024 stood out for its high attendance and exceptional quality of presented papers, and I am deeply grateful to the CouFrac organizing committee and the Japanese Society for Rock Mechanics. The Commission on Estimation of Rock Mass Strength and Deformability, newly established this year, held its inaugural event in Latin America, jointly organized by the National Groups of Sri Lanka and Peru. This collaboration is highly meaningful, and I look forward to seeing continued cooperation and growth in their activities.

Furthermore, the conferences hosted by JTC1 and JTC2 marked their 14th and 5th editions, respectively, a testament to their sustained growth and significance. These two JTC conferences are becoming regular events, steadily enhancing their prestige and participation. My sincere appreciation goes to the chairpersons and all committee members for their efforts.









Prof. Seokwon Jeon President

We extend a warm welcome to Morocco and Iran, which joined the ISRM as new National Groups this year. Morocco NG is represented by the Moroccan Committee for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering, which successfully hosted the National Geotechnical Symposium last October. The ISRM VP for Europe, Dr. Muriel Gasc, delivered a keynote lecture at this event. Iran NG, which was previously an important National Group of our society, has rejoined. We sincerely congratulate them on rejoining and anticipate their active contributions in the future.

The ISRM Fellowship is conferred on individuals affiliated with the ISRM who have made outstanding accomplishments in rock mechanics and/or rock engineering and contributed significantly to the professional community through the ISRM. Since 2011, the ISRM has conferred Fellows every two years, and 44 Fellows have been honored thus far. It is with great pleasure that we announce the conferment of three Fellows for 2025: Prof. Laura Pyrak-Nolte, Prof. Charlie Chunlin Li, and Dr. Suseno Kramadibrata. We deeply appreciate their remarkable achievements and contributions to our society.

This year, we lost a giant in rock mechanics. Dr. Evert Hoek's legacy and memories will remain with us forever. A commemorative event honoring his contributions was held during the 1st International Rock Mass Classification Conference, hosted by the IAEG in October. In the event, Prof. Leandro Alejano delivered a keynote presentation on behalf of ISRM in memory of Dr. Hoek. I am grateful to Prof. Alejano for his contribution and to IAEG and the organizing committee for providing the opportunity. Presentation videos from this event, including wonderful contributions from Prof. John Harrison and Prof. Vassilis Marinos, President of IAEG, are available on the ISRM website.

Finally, I would like to extend my gratitude and congratulations to all of you for your hard work and dedication over the past year, and I wish you a wonderful New Year.

Seokwon Jeon

Seokwander