



**ISRM Fellows** 2025



Cover page photo: Trolltunga rock, Norway.

## Award Ceremony

#### THE ISRM FELLOWS 2025 ISRM INTERNATIONAL SYMPOSIUM EUROCK 2025

#### TRONDHEIM, NORWAY

**JUNE 2025** 

of

AND PACE		
ISRM Fellows		
C-R - Aber	FOREWORD	5
	SUSENO KRAMADIBRATA	6
	CHARLIE C. LI	7
	LAURA J. PYRAK-NOLTE	8
	FELLOWS, BEIJING 2011	9
	FELLOWS, WROCLAW 2013	9
	FELLOWS, MONTRÉAL 2015	10
	FELLOWS, CAPE TOWN 2017	10
	FELLOWS, BRAZIL 2019	10
	FELLOWS, PARAGUAY 2021	11
	FELLOWS, AUSTRIA 2023	11



## **ISRM Fellows**

# In line with enhancing the recognition of ISRM members' high-level achievements,

the status of ISRM Fellows acknowledges select individuals who have achieved outstanding accomplishments in the areas of rock mechanics/rock engineering and have contributed significantly to the work of the ISRM. The title of ISRM Fellow carries a clear Society recognition in addition to that which an individual has attained through his or her own reputation.

The title and position of ISRM Fellow is a lifetime appointment. ISRM Fellows can be called upon as appropriate for ISRM activities, and would be expected to provide reasonable advice namely in the ISRM Advisory Forum, which meets every two years. Thus, the induction of ISRM Fellows creates a group of high-level experts who can provide strong support to the ISRM as necessary.

The initial group of Fellows was inaugurated in the ISRM Beijing Congress in 2011 and, since then, every two years, a new group of Fellows has been appointed.

Photographs and abbreviated CVs of the eighth group of Fellows being inducted during the ISRM International Symposium – Eurock 2025, in Trondheim, Norway, in June 2025, are included in the following pages – in alphabetical order of surnames.

Seckwonden

Seokwon Jeon, ISRM President, 2023-2027





## Suseno Kramadibrata

Suseno Kramadibrata, born in 1954 in Jakarta, received a BSc in Mining Engineering from Institute Technology of Bandung, and earned an MSc from Western Australia School of Mines, Kalgoorlie and a PhD degree from the School of Civil Engineering, Curtin University, Australia. In 1981-2013, he was a full-time lecturer in the Department of Mining Engineering (DME) ITB.

Activities in Rock Mechanics & Rock Engineering include research particularly on rock mass characterization and classification, rock mechanics & rock engineering tests in laboratory as well as in the field. He also visited various Rock Mechanics Laboratories such as Clausthal University, Kyushu University, Seoul National University, Colorado School of Mines and McGill University Canada. In the DME ITB, he designed not less than 40 testing equipment for laboratory and field tests for Rock Mechanics & Rock Engineering and was an International External Examiner of a number of MSc and PhD Students of School of Civil Engineering, Curtin University.

He is the author and co-author of not less than 240 research publications and was Key Note Speakers in some international events and a Guest Lecturer in UTM Malaysia, Kyushu University, Seoul National University, University and Northeastern University China. He also has been an Editorial Board Member Bulletin of Eng. Geology & Environment.

Suseno served as the President of Indonesian Rock Mechanics Society (IRMS) and was the Vice President of ISRM for Asia (2019-2024) and member of Commission on Testing Methods of ISRM.

## Charlie C. Li

Dr. Charlie C. Li is a professor of rock mechanics for mining and civil engineering at NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway. He received his degrees of Bachelor and Master in geological engineering at Central South Institute of Mining and Metallurgy in China, and received his Licentiate and Ph.D. in mining rock mechanics at Luleå University of Technology in Sweden. Afterward, Dr. Li worked as a research fellow at Luleå University of Technology, and then as a ground control engineer in Boliden Mineral Ltd., Sweden, for more than ten years. He was appointed as the professor of rock mechanics at NTNU in 2004.

He worked in part-time as the Chief Technology Officer of Dynamic Rock Support AS to commercialize his invention of the D-Bolt in 2009-2013. The major scientific contributions of Dr. Li are in the theory and practice of ground support and physics of rockburst. He proposed three principles for underground rock support, established loading models for four categories of rock bolts, invented the D-bolt for ground support against rockburst, revealed the mechanics of strain burst in the microscopic scale, and established an energy conversion model for rock burst. He published the book of "Rockbolting – Principles and Applications" and more than 100 scientific peer-reviewed articles. Professor Li is a member of the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences.

He served the society as the ISRM Vice President for Europe in the period of 2015-2019.







## Laura J. Pyrak-Nolte

Laura J. Pyrak-Nolte is a Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Purdue University. She is the former President of the American Rock Mechanics Association, former President of the International Society of Porous Media, and former Vice-President for North America of the International Society of Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering.

After completing a BS in Engineering Science at SUNY Buffalo, Pyrak-Nolte studied rift basin geometry at Virginia Tech with John K. Costain. Pyrak-Nolte completed her doctoral research at the University of California, Berkeley where she worked on experimental rock mechanics with Neville G. W. Cook. She began as an assistant professor at the University of Notre Dame in the Department of Civil Engineering & Geological Sciences, moving to Purdue University where she continued her research on the mechanisms that underpin seismic processes in complex fractured rock. Her studies have advanced the understanding of the evolution of fractures, how seismic waves interact with fractures, how microstructure affects fracture geometry, and how the geometry of fractures impacts the flow of fluids. She developed a scaling theory that relates fluid flow and elastic stiffness using seismic signatures to infer hydromechanical properties of fractured rock.

Pyrak-Nolte was awarded the Society of Exploration Geophysicists Reginald Fessenden Award. She has also been recognized for her fundamental contributions in rock mechanics and geophysics through her election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, and Fellow of the American Rock Mechanics Association.



Edwin T. Brown



**Charles Fairhurst** 



John A. Franklin



2011

Pierre Habib



Nielen van der Merwe







Walter Wittke





Marc Panet



Shunsuke Sakurai







Giovanni Barla

Chung-In Lee



Herbert H. Einstein

Qian Qihu



John A. Hudson



**Dick Stacey** 



Ove Stephansson





#### 2015 THIRD GROUP OF FELLOWS, MONTRÉAL



Nick Barton



Temura Ramamurthy



Nuno Grossmann



José Delgado Rodrigues



Sun Jun



Peter Kaiser



Koichi Sassa



Wulf Schubert



Reşat Ulusay



Jian Zhao

#### 2017 FORTH GROUP OF FELLOWS, CAPE TOWN



Xia-Ting Feng



Álvaro J. Gonzalez Garcia



Yuzo Ohnishi



Ivan Vrkljan



#### FIFTH GROUP OF FELLOWS, BRAZIL 2019



Bill Bamford



C. Derek Martin



Carlos Dinis da Gama



Abdolhadi Ghazvinian



Antonio Samaniego



Yingxin Zhou

SIXTH GROUP OF FELLOWS, PARAGUAY





Manchao He



Eda Freitas de Quadros Luís Ribeiro e Sousa





Doug Stead



SEVENTH GROUP OF FELLOWS, AUSTRIA 2023



Sérgio Fontoura



Francois Malan



ISRM Secretariat LNEC Av. Brasil, 101 1700-066 LISBOA PORTUGAL Tel.: (+351) 218443419 URL: https://isrm.net E-mail: secretariat@isrm.net