

International Society for Rock Mechanics

ROCHA MEDAL 2016

Since 1982 a bronze medal and a cash prize have been awarded annually by the ISRM for an outstanding doctoral thesis in rock mechanics or rock engineering, to honour the memory of Past President Manuel Rocha while stimulating young researchers.

In addition to the Rocha Medal award to the winning submission, one or two runner-up certificates may also be awarded.

An invitation is now extended to the rock mechanics community for nominations for the Rocha Medal 2016.

Full details on the Rocha Medal are provided in ISRM By-law No. 7.





PORTUGAL

Application

To be considered for an award the candidate must be nominated within two years of the date of the official doctorate degree certification.

Nominations shall be by the nominee, or by the nominee's National Group, or by some other person or organization acquainted with the nominee's work.

Nominations shall be sent electronically, addressed to the Secretary General, and shall contain:

- a one page curriculum vitae;
- a written confirmation by the candidate's National Group that he/she is a member of the ISRM;
- a thesis summary, written in English, with between 5,000 and 10,000 words, detailed enough to convey the full impact of the thesis and accompanied by selected tables and figures;
- one copy of the complete thesis;
- one copy of the doctorate degree certificate;
- a letter of copyright release, allowing the ISRM to copy the thesis for purposes of review and selection only;
- an undertaking by the nominee to submit an article describing the work, for publication in the ISRM News Journal.

Application Deadline

The nomination must reach the ISRM Secretary General by 31 December 2014.

Past Recipients

1982	A.P. Cunha	PORTUGAL
1983	S. Bandis	GREECE
1984	B. Amadei	FRANCE
1985	P.M. Dight	AUSTRALIA
1986	W. Purrer	AUSTRIA
1987	D. Elsworth	UK
1988	S. Gentier	FRANCE
1989	B. Fröhlich	GERMANY
1990	R.K. Brummer	SOUTH AFRICA
1991	T.H. Kleine	AUSTRALIA
1992	A. Ghosh	INDIA
1993	O. Reyes W.	PHILIPPINES
1994	S. Akutagawa	JAPAN
1995	C. Derek Martin	CANADA
1996	M.P. Board	USA
1997	M. Brudy	GERMANY
1998	F. Mac Gregor	AUSTRALIA
1999	A. Daehnke	SOUTH AFRICA
2000	P. Cosenza	FRANCE
2001	D.F. Malan	SOUTH AFRICA
2002	M.S. Diederichs	CANADA
2003	L. M. Andersen	SOUTH AFRICA
2004	G. Grasselli	ITALY
2005	M. Hildyard	UK
2006	D. Ask	SWEDEN
2007	H. Yasuhara	JAPAN
2008	Z.Z. Liang	CHINA
2009	G. Li	CHINA
2010	J.C. Andersson	SWEDEN
2011	D. Park	REP. OF KOREA
2012	M.T. Zandarin	ARGENTINA
2013	M. Pierce	CANADA
2014	M.S.A. Perera	AUSTRALIA

All relevant information can be obtained from the ISRM website, at http://isrm.net.