

## **ROCHA MEDAL 2024**

Since 1982 a bronze medal and a cash prize have been **awarded annually by the ISRM** for an outstanding doctoral thesis in rock mechanics or rock engineering, to honour the memory of Past President Manuel Rocha while stimulating researchers.





In addition to the Rocha Medal award to the winning submission, one or two runner-up certificates may also be awarded. An invitation is now extended to the rock mechanics community for nominations for the Rocha Medal 2024. Full details about the Rocha Medal are provided in ISRM By-law No. 7, and all relevant information can be obtained from the ISRM website – isrm.net.

## Application

To be considered for an award the candidate must be nominated within two years of the date of the official doctorate degree certification.

Nominations shall be by the nominee, or by the nominee's National Group, or by some other person or organization acquainted with the nominee's work.

Nominations shall be sent electronically, addressed to the Secretary-General, and shall contain:

- a one page curriculum vitae, including nationality information:
- a written confirmation by the candidate's National Group that he/she is a member of the ISRM;
- a thesis summary, written in English, with between 5,000 and 10,000 words, detailed enough to convey the full impact of the thesis and accompanied by selected tables and figures, and information on word count;

- one copy of the complete thesis;
- one copy of the doctorate degree certificate;
- a letter of copyright release, allowing the ISRM to copy the thesis for purposes of review and selection only;
- an undertaking by the nominee to submit an article describing the work, for publication in the ISRM News Journal.

## Application Deadline

The nomination must reach the ISRM Secretary-General by 31 December 2022.

## Past Recipients

1982	A.P. Cunha	PORTUGAL	2002	M.S. Diederichs	CANADA
1983	S. Bandis	GREECE	2003	L.M. Andersen	SOUTH AFRICA
1984	B. Amadei	FRANCE	2004	G. Grasselli	ITALY
1985	P.M. Dight	AUSTRALIA	2005	M. Hildyard	UK
1986	W. Purrer	AUSTRIA	2006	D. Ask	SWEDEN
1987	D. Elsworth	UK	2007	H. Yasuhara	JAPAN
1988	S. Gentier	FRANCE	2008	Z.Z. Liang	CHINA
1989	B. Fröhlich	GERMANY	2009	G. Li	CHINA
1990	R.K. Brummer	SOUTH AFRICA	2010	J.C. Andersson	SWEDEN
1991	T.H. Kleine	AUSTRALIA	2011	D. Park	REP. OF KOREA
1992	A. Ghosh	INDIA	2012	M.T. Zandarin	ARGENTINA
1993	O. Reyes W.	PHILIPPINES	2013	M. Pierce	CANADA
1994	S. Akutagawa	JAPAN	2014	M.S.A. Perera	AUSTRALIA
1995	C. Derek Martin	CANADA	2015	A.L. Bradley	ITALY
1996	M.P. Board	USA	2016	C.W. Boon	MALAYSIA
1997	M. Brudy	GERMANY	2017	Bryan Tatone	CANADA
1998	F. Mac Gregor	AUSTRALIA	2018	M. du Plessis	SOUTH AFRICA
1999	A. Daehnke	SOUTH AFRICA	2019	Q. Lei	CHINA
2000	P. Cosenza	FRANCE	2020	J. Shang	CHINA
2001	D.F. Malan	SOUTH AFRICA	2021	Y. Yasuhiro	JAPAN
			2022	R.S. De Silva	SRI LANKA